Search

Snacks & sweets · Snack boxes

Japanese snack boxes compared: which is best for you, what each one costs with shipping, one-time boxes and who pays customs

A Japanese snack box is a parcel of sweets and snacks packed in Japan and posted to your door, usually once a month on a subscription. The companies that sell them publish their prices before shipping, and shipping adds between $13.99 and $20 to every box. This guide puts five boxes that ship from Japan side by side, using only what each company says on its own pages, checked on 12 October 2026. It covers what is in each box, the price with shipping to the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada and Australia, how to get one box without staying subscribed, gift plans, and who pays customs charges now that the United States charges duty on small parcels. This site has not tasted or tested the boxes, takes no payment from any of these companies and does not rank them.

Shop shelves stacked with boxes and bags of chocolates and snacks, with yen price tags along each shelf edge
Chocolate and snack shelves in a shop in Japan · Photo: Hector Martin, CC BY-SA 2.0 via Wikimedia Commons

In short

No one Japanese snack box is best for everyone, because the five compared here sell different things at close prices. On monthly plans, checked on 12 October 2026, Japan Candy Box costs $31 a box, TokyoTreat and Sakuraco $37.50, Freedom Japanese Market $37.99 and Bokksu $39.99, all in US dollars and all before shipping of $13.99 to $20 a box. With shipping to the United States, and with the import duty that three of the companies collect in advance, one box comes to between $51.00 and $59.74. None of the five sells its monthly box as a plain one-off purchase, but four say you can subscribe and cancel straight away, and Bokksu sells a one-month gift box for $49.99. Since 29 August 2025 the United States has charged duty on low-value parcels. Bokksu collects $3 a box for it in advance, TokyoTreat and Sakuraco collect $5.25 a box on a monthly plan, Japan Candy Box says its price to the US includes it, and Freedom Japanese Market leaves any charge to the buyer.

Japanese snack boxes compared at a glance

Five companies are compared in this guide: Bokksu, TokyoTreat, Sakuraco, Japan Candy Box and Freedom Japanese Market. All five say they ship from Japan, all five price in US dollars, and all five sell the box as a subscription that renews until you cancel it.

The table below uses the monthly plan, which is the dearest price per box at each company and the one that ties you in for the shortest time. Shipping is charged on top, for every box, and the last column adds the United States import duty where a company collects it with the order.

Box What is in it Items in a box Monthly plan Cheapest per box Shipping per box to the US
Bokksu Snacks and sweets from long-established family makers, with a tea 20 to 22 in the current box $39.99 $32.99 on 12 months $13.99 plus $3 US import duty
TokyoTreat Modern sweets and snacks, Kit Kats, crisps and instant noodles 12 to 15, full-sized $37.50 $32.50 on 12 months $16.99 plus $5.25 US import duty
Sakuraco Traditional sweets and snacks, tea and one piece of homeware Up to 20 $37.50 $32.50 on 12 months $16.99 plus $5.25 US import duty
Japan Candy Box Sweets, Kit Kats, crisps and Pocky 10 or more $31 $25 on 12 months $20, with US duties included
Freedom Japanese Market Branded snacks, traditional sweets, dagashi and DIY sweet kits Not stated $37.99 $34.99 on 3 months $13.99, with customs fees left to the buyer

Two other names come up when people search for Japanese snack boxes, ZenPop and Japan Crate. This site could not read either company's pages while preparing this guide, so neither is compared here.

What is in each Japanese snack box?

The five boxes fall into two groups. Bokksu and Sakuraco send sweets and snacks from older, smaller makers, with tea and a printed booklet about where each item comes from. TokyoTreat and Japan Candy Box send the kind of sweets, crisps and Kit Kats sold in Japanese convenience stores and supermarkets. Freedom Japanese Market sits between the two.

Bokksu

Bokksu describes itself on its home page as a "Premium subscription box sourcing Japanese snacks from centuries-old family makers." Its subscription page promises more than 20 Japan-exclusive snacks in a box. On 12 October 2026 the same page said that every subscriber, new or existing, would receive its Seasons of Japan box, with 20 to 22 snacks and sweets and a tea, plus a 24-page guide that describes where each product comes from, how it tastes and its common allergens.

A coffee add-on of three single-serve pour-over coffees was offered for $10 on the same date. The page describes it as a one-time addition that does not renew with the box.

TokyoTreat

TokyoTreat is the box of modern, brightly packaged snacks. Its help centre says: "You’ll get 12 to 15 full-sized Japanese snacks that are hard to find outside of Japan." The selection changes every month. The subscription page lists what goes in:

  • Japan-only and seasonal Kit Kat flavours
  • Cakes, biscuits and bread such as melonpan and dorayaki
  • Instant noodles and soups, including ramen, soba, udon and miso soup
  • Hi-Chew and gummy sweets
  • Crisps and other savoury snacks
  • Chocolates and Pocky
  • Mochi and jellies

The help centre also names DIY sweet kits and dagashi, the cheap pocket-money sweets that Japanese children buy. Each box comes with a 20-page booklet, and the page promises complete allergen information.

Sakuraco

Sakuraco is the traditional box from the same family of brands as TokyoTreat. The two share one help centre and one shipping table, and they cost the same. The contents are different. Sakuraco's help centre says: "Inside each box, you’ll discover up to 20 carefully selected items, all of which are authentic Japanese sweets, snacks, tea, and more."

Each box also holds a piece of Japanese homeware. The subscription page gives ceramics, chopsticks and furoshiki wrapping cloths as examples, bought from traditional makers. A 24-page culture guide comes in the box, and a tea pairing can be added for $10 a month.

Japan Candy Box

Japan Candy Box is the cheapest of the five and the smallest by its own count: its pages promise 10 or more Japan-exclusive sweets and snacks in each monthly box, which is sent from Tokyo. The home page lists rare Kit Kat flavours, crisps and salty snacks, Pocky and other biscuit sticks, and Hi-Chew and gummies.

It sells one size of box. The company's support page warns that Japanese makers do not usually say whether a snack is free of gluten or fits a vegan diet, so it cannot promise either.

Freedom Japanese Market

Freedom Japanese Market describes itself as a family business in Japan and says each box is packed by hand. Its home page describes three kinds of contents: limited-edition and character-branded snacks from big names such as Meiji, Pocky, Kit Kat, Milky and Glico; traditional wagashi sweets from family-run makers; and dagashi and DIY kits. It does not post liquids, which it says keeps the shipping cost down.

Every box comes with an English list of the contents and their allergens. The company does not state how many items are in a box, so the table above says only that the number is not stated.

How much does a Japanese snack box cost with shipping?

The price on the front of each website is the price of the box alone. Shipping is added at checkout, for every box, and so is the import duty that three of the companies collect from buyers in the United States. Together they change the order of the five. All prices below are in US dollars, which is how all five companies charge, whatever country you live in.

Plan prices before shipping

Longer plans cost less per box. These are the prices per box on each company's subscription page on 12 October 2026.

Box 1 month 3 months 6 months 12 months
Bokksu $39.99 $35.99 $33.99 $32.99
TokyoTreat $37.50 $35.50 $33.50 $32.50
Sakuraco $37.50 $35.50 $33.50 $32.50
Japan Candy Box $31 $29 $27 $25
Freedom Japanese Market $37.99 $34.99 Not offered Not offered

One box with shipping

The next table is this site's own arithmetic: the monthly price, plus the shipping fee, plus any tax or duty the company says it collects with the order. It leaves out anything charged when the parcel arrives, which is covered further down.

Box To the United States To the United Kingdom To Canada or Australia
Japan Candy Box $51.00 ($31 plus $20), duties included $51.00, before any VAT added at checkout $51.00
Freedom Japanese Market $51.98 ($37.99 plus $13.99) $51.98, at its rate for Europe $51.98
Bokksu $56.98 ($39.99 plus $13.99 plus $3 import duty) $55.98 ($39.99 plus $15.99) $55.98
TokyoTreat $59.74 ($37.50 plus $16.99 plus $5.25 import duty) $57.49 ($37.50 plus $16.99 plus $3 tax and duties) $54.49 ($37.50 plus $16.99)
Sakuraco $59.74 ($37.50 plus $16.99 plus $5.25 import duty) $57.49 ($37.50 plus $16.99 plus $3 tax and duties) $54.49 ($37.50 plus $16.99)

For a box sent to the United States, the gap between the cheapest and the dearest is $8.99 before shipping and $8.74 after it. Japan Candy Box has the lowest price and the highest shipping fee. TokyoTreat and Sakuraco are cheaper than Bokksu on the price list and dearer once shipping and duty are added for an address in the United States or the United Kingdom. To Canada or Australia, where neither company collects a duty, they stay cheaper than Bokksu.

The longest plan with shipping

On the longest plan each company sells, one box sent to the United States comes to $45.00 at Japan Candy Box, $48.98 at Freedom Japanese Market (its three-month plan), $49.98 at Bokksu and $54.37 at TokyoTreat and Sakuraco, where the duty on a 12-month plan is $4.88 a box. Over a full year that is $540.00 for twelve Japan Candy Box boxes, $599.76 for Bokksu and $652.44 for TokyoTreat or Sakuraco. Again, this is this site's arithmetic from the published prices.

Cost per item

Dividing the United States total by the number of items each company promises gives a rough price per item. Bokksu works out at $2.59 to $2.85 for each of 20 to 22 items, Sakuraco at $2.99 if the box holds its full 20, TokyoTreat at $3.98 to $4.98 for each of 12 to 15 items, and Japan Candy Box at $5.10 if the box holds its minimum of 10.

Treat these figures with care. The counts are the companies' own, an item can be anything from a single wrapped sweet to a full bag of crisps, and TokyoTreat is the only one of the four to say that its items are full-sized.

Can you buy just one box without a subscription?

Not directly, at any of the five. Each monthly box is sold as a subscription. Four of the companies say plainly that the way round it is to subscribe and then cancel, and the fifth sells a one-month gift.

  • TokyoTreat and Sakuraco: their shared help centre says: "Currently, we only offer recurring subscriptions. However, if you'd like to receive just one box, you can subscribe to the monthly plan and then cancel your subscription right away."
  • Japan Candy Box: its support page gives the same advice, and adds that you are then billed for that one month's box only.
  • Freedom Japanese Market: its FAQ says: "We are a subscription service, but you are more than welcome to create a subscription, pay for the first box, and then unsubscribe right after." It adds that the first parcel is prepared once the payment is received, even if you then suspend the subscription.
  • Bokksu: the one-month gift plan costs $49.99 plus shipping and is marked as billed once and shipped once. That is $10 more than the monthly subscription price.

One-off boxes from the companies' shops

Two of the companies also run shops where single items are sold with no subscription. Prices there move with sales and stock, so the two below are examples from one day, 12 October 2026.

  • Bokksu Boutique: Bokksu's shop for single snacks, drinks, pantry goods, homeware and gifts. It listed the Seasons of Japan snack box on its own at $40.95, marked down from $52.50. Subscribers to the snack box get 10% off Boutique orders.
  • TokyoTreat's MiniMart: a box of dagashi sold only to customers in the United States, at $22.78 for one box, reduced from $25.97. Packs of 3, 5 and 10 boxes were sold alongside it.

Bokksu also names Sugoi Mart as one of its shops, for trendy snacks, anime goods, toys and stationery. Sugoi Mart sells lucky bags and single snacks with no subscription, and says it usually ships orders within 5 to 7 business days. Its shipping fees are shown at checkout, so this site does not quote one.

Four clear plastic jars with red, orange and pink lids on a shelf, filled with strips and skewered snacks
Dagashi, the pocket-money snacks of Japan, in jars · Photo: 邱炫儒, CC BY-SA 2.0 via Wikimedia Commons

Japanese snack boxes as a gift

Gift plans differ from subscriptions in one useful way: they stop on their own. You pay once for a fixed number of boxes and nothing renews.

Box Gift plans sold Price per box before shipping Renews?
Bokksu 1, 3, 6 or 12 months $49.99, $35.99, $33.99 or $32.99 No
TokyoTreat 3, 6 or 12 months $35.50, $33.50 or $32.50 No
Sakuraco 3, 6 or 12 months $35.50, $33.50 or $32.50 No
Japan Candy Box 3, 6 or 12 months $29, $27 or $25 No
Freedom Japanese Market A box or a subscription sent as a gift Same as its subscription Yes, unless you cancel

Bokksu is the only one of the five with a gift of a single box. An answer on its gift page puts the no-renewal rule this way: "Rest assured that all of our Gift Bokksu options are one-time payments that do not auto-renew."

Japan Candy Box says its gift plan ends with the last box and does not renew, and that the boxes go straight to the person you name. Sakuraco prices its gift plans as a single payment: $106.50 for three months, $201.00 for six and $390.00 for twelve, with shipping added. TokyoTreat's gift page lets you write a message and choose the date, in Japan time, on which the gift email is sent.

Freedom Japanese Market has no separate gift plan. It suggests the subscribe-and-cancel route as a way to send one gift box, posts it to the address of the person receiving it, and will put a free message from you in the first box if you email the text after subscribing.

Shipping to the US, the UK, Canada and Australia

All five companies post their boxes from Japan, and all five charge shipping on every box, including each box of a plan paid in advance. The fees and delivery times below were on the companies' pages on 12 October 2026.

Box Shipping per box Delivery time the company gives
Bokksu $13.99 to the United States, $15.99 to the United Kingdom, Canada and Australia 5 to 10 business days after shipping
TokyoTreat and Sakuraco $16.99 to all four countries 7 to 28 days after shipping
Japan Candy Box $20 to every country 1 to 2 weeks after shipping
Freedom Japanese Market $13.99 to all four countries 5 to 14 business days

These are estimates, not promises. The details behind each row:

  • Bokksu: the $15.99 rate also covers the European Union. Other rates are $9.99 to China, South Korea, Taiwan and Japan, $10.99 to Singapore, Malaysia, the Philippines and Hong Kong, $19.99 to Brazil, Chile and Peru, $29.99 to Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates, and $14.99 to most other countries. The estimate in the table comes from its help centre, and its shipping policy page puts it more loosely, at one to two weeks from the order. Bokksu says it cannot guarantee arrival by a particular date, and asks customers to get in touch if a parcel has not arrived four weeks after the shipping confirmation email.
  • TokyoTreat and Sakuraco: the fee rose from $14.99 to $16.99 a box on 16 September 2026. A box is packed within 3 to 5 business days of the order and then handed to the courier. A short list of countries and territories is served by surface mail instead, at $5 a box and 60 to 90 days after shipping, and the shipping table marks some countries as having no shipping method at all.
  • Japan Candy Box: its support page says: "The shipping is $20 worldwide and includes a tracking code for your box." The first box you receive is the following month's, so an order placed in March brings the April box. On 12 October 2026 a banner on the site said that global shipping was a bit slow.
  • Freedom Japanese Market: it has three zones. The $13.99 zone covers the United States, Canada, Australia, Mexico and Europe. Southeast Asia, China, Korea, Taiwan and Japan pay $10.99, and Central and South America and Africa pay $20.99, with a longer estimate of 7 to 28 business days. Boxes go out around the 15th of each month. If you subscribe in the first half of a month, your first box ships close to the 15th. If you subscribe later, it ships about a week after the order.

Customs, tariffs and VAT: who pays?

A box of snacks posted from Japan is an import, and the person who ordered it is the importer. United States Customs and Border Protection puts it in one line: "When you buy goods online, you become an importer." Whether you pay anything on top of the price and the shipping depends on where you live and on which company you buy from.

Box United States United Kingdom Canada and Australia
Bokksu $3 a box collected with the order Any charge is the recipient's Any charge is the recipient's
TokyoTreat and Sakuraco $4.88 to $5.25 a box collected with the order $3 a box collected with the order Any charge is the recipient's
Japan Candy Box Included in the price VAT may be added at checkout Any charge on arrival is the buyer's
Freedom Japanese Market Any charge is the buyer's Any charge is the buyer's Any charge is the buyer's

This site does not state duty or tariff rates. They depend on what is in the parcel and where it was made, and they have changed more than once since 2025.

United States

Until 2025 a parcel worth $800 or less entered the United States free of duty. That has ended. A fact sheet from Customs and Border Protection says: "Effective Aug 29, 2025, imported goods from all countries that are valued at or below $800 will no longer be eligible for de minimis treatment and will be subject to all applicable duties, taxes, and fees."

Each company has dealt with it differently.

  • Bokksu adds a $3 United States import duty to every box on a subscription or gift plan. It says the fee is collected in advance and that boxes are sent with duties prepaid, an arrangement known as Delivered Duty Paid.
  • TokyoTreat and Sakuraco also collect the duty with the order. The amount has gone up since it began. It was about $3 a box in August 2025 and $4.29 a box in the price list that took effect on 1 April 2026. Since 16 September 2026 it has been $5.25 a box on a monthly plan, $5.15 on three months, $5.03 on six and $4.88 on twelve. The companies' shared help centre explains the reason for collecting it: "By collecting this fee in advance, you will not encounter unexpected charges when your box arrives in the U.S." The same notice adds a caution that the final decision rests with United States customs and the postal or courier service carrying the parcel.
  • Japan Candy Box builds the duty into what it charges. Its support page says: "The total amount you pay includes all customs duties and taxes. We guarantee no additional charges on delivery."
  • Freedom Japanese Market collects nothing in advance. Its shipping page says: "Customers are responsible for any customs fees." The same page says the company declares a value of 2,000 yen for each box, and that a parcel of that value often falls under the duty-free limit. For the United States that no longer helps, because the fact sheet quoted above ends the exemption for low-value parcels, so a buyer there should allow for a charge when the box arrives.

United Kingdom

The British government's guidance says that "VAT is charged on all goods (except for gifts worth £39 or less)" sent to Great Britain from outside the United Kingdom. For a parcel with a total value of £135 or less it goes on: "If you bought the goods yourself and they are not excise goods, the seller will have included VAT in the total you paid." The same page shows no Customs Duty at or below that £135 line, unless the goods are excise goods.

In practice the five companies differ.

  • TokyoTreat and Sakuraco have collected $3 a box for United Kingdom tax and duties with the order since 1 April 2026. The notice announcing it says: "Previously, TokyoTreat and Sakuraco covered VAT for orders to these regions."
  • Japan Candy Box says: "If you live in the EU or UK a value-added tax (VAT) may be added to your order during checkout."
  • Bokksu lists no United Kingdom tax in its shipping rates. Its help centre says: "If customs charges duties, taxes, or other fees, the recipient is responsible for paying them."
  • Freedom Japanese Market says the same thing in fewer words, as quoted above.

If a charge is due on arrival, Royal Mail, Parcelforce or the courier sends a bill before handing the parcel over. The guidance warns: "They’ll normally hold your parcel for about 3 weeks." After that an unpaid parcel goes back to the sender. The £135 line is set in pounds and the boxes are priced in dollars. This site does not quote exchange rates, so check the figure in your own currency.

Canada

The Canada Border Services Agency says: "Any item mailed to Canada may be subject to the Goods and Services Tax (GST) and/or duty." It goes on: "Unless specifically exempted, you must pay the 5% GST on items you import into Canada by mail." Goods worth CAN$20 or less are exempt from the GST. In provinces that have an agreement with the federal government, the agency says the harmonised sales tax is collected instead, at 13 percent. Duty, where it applies, varies with the kind of goods and where they were made.

None of the five companies says it collects Canadian tax or duty with the order. TokyoTreat and Sakuraco put it plainly for every country where they do not collect in advance: "If you are charged any customs fees or taxes, please note that we are not responsible for covering these costs." Japan Candy Box says that outside the United States the buyer may have to pay tariffs, duties or VAT when the box arrives.

Australia and the European Union

This site does not quote Australian tax or duty figures, because it could not read an official Australian page on the subject while preparing this guide. What the companies say is the same as for Canada: none of the five says it collects Australian tax in advance, and all five leave any charge on arrival to the person receiving the box. TokyoTreat and Sakuraco recommend checking your own country's customs rules before you order.

For the European Union, TokyoTreat and Sakuraco collect $7 a box for tax with the order, which they say covers VAT. A notice from June 2026 says that the European Union was ending its duty-free exemption for goods valued below 150 euros from 1 July 2026, that the amount collected at checkout does not cover customs duty, and that the local postal carrier will contact the recipient if duty has to be paid. Japan Candy Box may add VAT at checkout for European Union addresses. Bokksu charges its $15.99 shipping rate and leaves any customs charge to the recipient.

Bokksu vs Sakuraco vs TokyoTreat

These three are the boxes most often set against each other, and on price there is little between them. The monthly plans are $2.49 apart and the 12-month plans 49 cents a box apart. What separates them is the kind of snack in the box and the total at your address.

A wooden display case with trays of strawberry daifuku, pink rice cakes wrapped in leaves and three-colour dango
Traditional sweets in a shop case · Photo: Pete Birkinshaw from Manchester, UK, CC BY 2.0
A mini Kit Kat in a green wrapper printed in Japanese, lying on a white background
Matcha Kit Kat sold in Japan · Photo: Ktr101, CC BY-SA 4.0
Point Bokksu Sakuraco TokyoTreat
Kind of snacks Traditional, from old family makers Traditional Modern and brightly packaged
Items in a box 20 to 22 in the current box Up to 20 12 to 15, full-sized
Also in the box A tea and a 24-page guide Tea, one piece of homeware and a 24-page guide A 20-page booklet
Monthly plan $39.99 $37.50 $37.50
12-month plan, per box $32.99 $32.50 $32.50
One box to the United States $56.98 $59.74 $59.74
One box to the United Kingdom $55.98 $57.49 $57.49
One box to Canada or Australia $55.98 $54.49 $54.49
One box only A one-month gift at $49.99 plus shipping Subscribe, then cancel Subscribe, then cancel
Skipping a month Monthly plans, from the account Monthly plans, from the account Monthly plans, from the account

The three rows of totals are this site's arithmetic from the cost section above: the monthly price, the shipping fee and any tax or duty the company collects with the order.

Bokksu vs Sakuraco

These are the two traditional boxes, and they are close. Both send sweets and snacks from older Japanese makers, both include tea, and both put a 24-page printed guide in the box. The differences are these.

  • Homeware: Sakuraco puts one piece of Japanese homeware in every box. Bokksu's subscription page lists snacks, sweets and a tea.
  • Price list: Bokksu's monthly plan is $2.49 dearer than Sakuraco's, at $39.99 against $37.50.
  • Total to the United States: Bokksu is $2.76 cheaper, at $56.98 against $59.74. Its shipping fee is $3 lower and the import duty it collects is $2.25 lower.
  • Total to the United Kingdom: Bokksu is $1.51 cheaper at checkout, at $55.98 against $57.49. Sakuraco's total already includes $3 for United Kingdom tax and duties. Bokksu collects nothing in advance and leaves any charge on arrival to the recipient.
  • Total to Canada or Australia: Sakuraco is $1.49 cheaper, at $54.49 against $55.98.
  • A single box: Bokksu sells a one-month gift. Sakuraco's gift plans start at three months.
  • Add-ons: Sakuraco offers a tea pairing at $10 a month. On 12 October 2026 Bokksu was offering a one-time coffee add-on at $10.

Bokksu vs TokyoTreat

Here the choice is about taste more than price. Bokksu sends traditional snacks and sweets from long-established family makers, with a tea. TokyoTreat sends modern snacks of the kind sold in Japanese convenience stores and supermarkets: Japan-only Kit Kat flavours, crisps, gummy sweets, Pocky and instant noodles.

The counts differ too. Bokksu's current box holds 20 to 22 items and TokyoTreat promises 12 to 15. TokyoTreat is the only one of the two to say that its items are full-sized.

On money, TokyoTreat costs the same as Sakuraco in every row of the table above, so the same sums apply. Bokksu is $2.49 dearer on the monthly price list, $2.76 cheaper in total to the United States, $1.51 cheaper at checkout to the United Kingdom and $1.49 dearer to Canada or Australia.

TokyoTreat vs Sakuraco

These two come from the same family of brands. The price, the shipping fee, the duty collected from buyers in the United States, the help centre and the rules on cancelling and skipping are the same. Only the contents differ.

  • TokyoTreat is the modern box: 12 to 15 full-sized snacks, with Kit Kats, crisps, instant noodles and DIY sweet kits, and a 20-page booklet.
  • Sakuraco is the traditional box: up to 20 items of sweets, snacks and tea, one piece of homeware and a 24-page culture guide.

By this site's arithmetic, the cost per item for a box sent to the United States is $3.98 to $4.98 at TokyoTreat and $2.99 at Sakuraco if the box holds its full 20. That does not make Sakuraco the better buy. Its count is an upper limit, and it does not say that its items are full-sized.

Are Japanese snack boxes worth it?

On price alone, no box can match buying the same snacks in Japan. Every box carries international postage of $13.99 to $20, and for buyers in the United States an import duty as well. For comparison, this site's guide to Japanese snacks gives the Japanese government's average shop prices in Tokyo's 23 wards for September 2026: 223 yen for 100 g of potato chips and 145 yen for a bag of gummies.

Rows of bagged sweets hanging on racks from top to bottom of a shop aisle
Sweets aisle in a Japanese drugstore · Photo: LittleT889, CC BY 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons

None of the company pages this site read says what the contents of a box would cost in a shop in Japan. The nearest thing to a figure comes from Freedom Japanese Market, whose shipping page says it declares a value of 2,000 yen for each box to customs. A customs value is not a shop price, and this site does not quote exchange rates, so it draws no conclusion from that number. It is there for you to set beside the company's $37.99 monthly price and $13.99 shipping fee.

What the money buys is something else.

  • Someone choosing for you. You do not pick the items. TokyoTreat and Sakuraco say they do not customise boxes, and Bokksu sends every subscriber the same box.
  • Snacks that are hard to buy at home. Bokksu, TokyoTreat and Japan Candy Box all promise items sold only in Japan.
  • A guide in English. Bokksu, TokyoTreat, Sakuraco and Freedom Japanese Market put a printed guide or list in English in the box.
  • Delivery to your door. The companies' own estimates run from 5 business days to 28 days after the box is shipped.

A box makes most sense as a present, as a treat for someone who is not going to Japan soon, or as a way to try a spread of snacks before a trip. It makes least sense if you want particular snacks, because you cannot choose them, or if you are about to travel. In Japan the same kinds of snacks are on the shelves of convenience stores, supermarkets and discount shops at shop prices. This site's guide to souvenirs covers what to bring home and where to buy it, and its tax-free calculator does the sums for tax-free shopping.

How to cancel or skip a box

All five companies let you cancel online from your account. The part that catches people is timing: a cancellation stops future charges, not one that has already gone through.

  • Bokksu: its help centre says: "Customers can cancel their subscription through their Bokksu account before the next renewal date to prevent future charges." If months you have already paid for are still to come, it asks you to contact its support team instead. Monthly subscribers can skip the next shipment from their account settings. On a 3, 6 or 12-month plan, skipping pushes the next renewal back by a whole plan period, and the boxes already paid for are still sent. Food cannot be sent back: "Please note that all food items are final sale and cannot be returned due to food safety and quality standards."
  • TokyoTreat and Sakuraco: cancelling is done in the customer portal. Open the account dashboard, choose View Plan on the subscription, choose Cancel Subscription at the bottom of the page, answer the questions and confirm. A monthly plan can skip a month from the same page. The help centre explains what that does: "If you choose to skip a month, it means that your next renewal date will be pushed back by 1 month." A plan paid in advance cannot skip a box part-way through.
  • Japan Candy Box: its support page says: "You can cancel your subscription easily anytime by logging into your account." The page does not describe a way to skip a month. Its limits on refunds are set out in the sections on cost and on single boxes above.
  • Freedom Japanese Market: its FAQ says: "Subscriptions auto-renew unless canceled before the next billing date." A reminder email goes out five days before each payment. If you do not cancel in time, the latest charge is not refunded and the box is still sent. You can also suspend a subscription, which stops both the charges and the boxes for the months that follow.

Allergies and dietary needs

None of the five companies' pages offers a box made for an allergy or a particular diet. What they offer is information, and how much differs.

  • Bokksu: the guide in the box lists common allergens. Its help centre says: "Bokksu provides ingredient and allergen information whenever available from manufacturers." It also says: "Bokksu cannot guarantee that products will meet specific dietary requirements or be free from cross-contamination."
  • TokyoTreat and Sakuraco: the two subscription pages advertise complete allergen information in the booklet. The help centre is more cautious. In articles for both boxes, last updated in March 2025, it says: "At the moment, we don’t provide allergy information in English on the snacks or offer customization for the items in our boxes." The same articles say that the leaflet in the box describes the snacks, that its information is not comprehensive, and that the company cannot guarantee any snack is free of allergens for everyone. On diets, TokyoTreat's help centre says: "At the moment, we don’t offer vegan/vegetarian-only or halal-only box options."
  • Japan Candy Box: as noted earlier, it cannot say which snacks are free of gluten or fit a vegan diet. Its support page adds: "We also cannot guarantee that they do not include any animal-based products."
  • Freedom Japanese Market: its home page says: "All boxes include an English guide with descriptions and allergen info." This site found no statement on its pages about vegan, halal or gluten-free boxes.

If you have a food allergy, write to the company before you order and ask about the box you would receive. The printing on the snacks themselves is in Japanese. This site's guide to Japanese snacks explains how to read a Japanese snack label for allergens, pork and gelatine.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best Japanese snack box?

There is no single best one, because the boxes sell different things. Bokksu and Sakuraco send traditional sweets and snacks with tea, TokyoTreat and Japan Candy Box send modern sweets, Kit Kats and crisps, and Freedom Japanese Market is a small family-run sender with a mix of both. Japan Candy Box has the lowest price, at $31 a month plus $20 shipping. This site compares what the companies publish and does not rank them.

What is the cheapest Japanese snack box?

Of the five compared here, Japan Candy Box, at $31 a box month by month or $25 a box on a 12-month plan, plus $20 shipping to any country. With shipping to the United States one box comes to $51.00, and the company says that price includes customs duties. Freedom Japanese Market is close behind at $51.98 with shipping, but it leaves any customs charge to the buyer.

Can I buy a Japanese snack box without a subscription?

Not as a plain one-off purchase at any of the five. TokyoTreat, Sakuraco, Japan Candy Box and Freedom Japanese Market all say you can take the monthly plan and cancel straight away, so that you pay for one box only. Bokksu sells a one-month gift box at $49.99 plus shipping, which is billed once and does not renew.

Is Bokksu or Sakuraco better?

They are close. Both are traditional boxes with tea and a 24-page guide, and Sakuraco adds one piece of Japanese homeware. Sakuraco is $2.49 cheaper on the monthly price list. Once shipping and import duty are added, Bokksu is $2.76 cheaper for a box sent to the United States, and Sakuraco is $1.49 cheaper for a box sent to Canada or Australia.

What is the difference between TokyoTreat and Sakuraco?

Only what is in the box. TokyoTreat sends 12 to 15 full-sized modern snacks such as Kit Kats, crisps and instant noodles. Sakuraco sends up to 20 traditional sweets and snacks with tea and a piece of homeware. The two share prices, shipping fees and a help centre.

Is Bokksu cheaper than TokyoTreat?

Not on the price list: Bokksu's monthly plan is $39.99 and TokyoTreat's is $37.50. In total it depends on the country. For a box sent to the United States, Bokksu comes to $56.98 and TokyoTreat to $59.74, because Bokksu's shipping fee and import duty are lower. For Canada or Australia, TokyoTreat comes to $54.49 and Bokksu to $55.98.

Are Japanese snack boxes worth it?

They are worth it as a present or as a way to try snacks you cannot buy at home, and poor value if price is all that matters. Shipping alone is $13.99 to $20 a box, and you cannot choose the items. If you are going to Japan, the same kinds of snacks cost far less in the shops there.

Which Japanese snack boxes ship to the UK?

All five. Shipping per box is $13.99 from Freedom Japanese Market, $15.99 from Bokksu, $16.99 from TokyoTreat and Sakuraco, and $20 from Japan Candy Box. TokyoTreat and Sakuraco also collect $3 a box for United Kingdom tax and duties, and Japan Candy Box says VAT may be added at checkout. Bokksu and Freedom Japanese Market leave any charge on arrival to the person receiving the box.

Which Japanese snack boxes ship to Australia and Canada?

All five, at the same shipping fees as to the United Kingdom: $13.99 from Freedom Japanese Market, $15.99 from Bokksu, $16.99 from TokyoTreat and Sakuraco, and $20 from Japan Candy Box. None of the five says it collects Australian or Canadian tax with the order, so any charge on arrival is yours to pay.

Do I pay customs duty on a Japanese snack box in the US?

Often yes, though usually at checkout and not at the door. Since 29 August 2025 low-value parcels are no longer duty-free in the United States. Bokksu collects $3 a box in advance, TokyoTreat and Sakuraco collect $5.25 a box on a monthly plan, and Japan Candy Box says its price includes all duties. Freedom Japanese Market collects nothing, so a charge may be due when the box arrives.

How long does a Japanese snack box take to arrive?

The companies' estimates are 5 to 10 business days after shipping for Bokksu, 7 to 28 days after shipping for TokyoTreat and Sakuraco, 1 to 2 weeks after shipping for Japan Candy Box and 5 to 14 business days for Freedom Japanese Market. None of them is a guarantee. Bokksu asks customers to wait four weeks before reporting a missing parcel.

How do I cancel a Japanese snack box subscription?

At all five companies you cancel online from your account, and you need to do it before the next billing date. A charge that has already gone through is generally not refunded, and the box it paid for is still sent. Plans of 3, 6 or 12 months are paid in advance, and Japan Candy Box does not refund them once the first box has shipped.

Which Japanese snack box is best as a gift?

Gift plans are the simplest, because they are paid once and do not renew. Bokksu is the only one of the five with a gift of a single box, at $49.99 plus shipping. TokyoTreat, Sakuraco and Japan Candy Box sell gift plans of 3, 6 or 12 months. Freedom Japanese Market has no separate gift plan, but will put a free message in the first box.

How much is shipping for a Japanese snack box?

To the United States it is $13.99 a box from Bokksu and Freedom Japanese Market, $16.99 from TokyoTreat and Sakuraco, and $20 from Japan Candy Box. The fee is charged on every box, including each box of a plan paid in advance. Bokksu charges $15.99 to the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia and the European Union.

Sources

Official and primary sources used for this page. Checked October 12, 2026.

To cite or link to this page: Japanese snack boxes compared: which is best for you, what each one costs with shipping, one-time boxes and who pays customs — Japan Pocket Guide, https://japanpocketguide.com/snacks/japanese-snack-boxes/